top of page

Spin for the Health of it!


Spin for the Health of it!

Every Monday and Friday I teach one of my favorite classes: SPIN!! It is so much fun and I’ve been a spin junky since I can remember. I was very much inspired by a teacher back in my 24 hour fitness days, he was truly passionate about spin, had a style all of his own and worked us hard. I visit him often when I am in town to thank him and continuously be inspired. Something I strive for when teaching my classes.

Just like any exercise of choice, wether it be running, cycling, zumba, etc. Each have their own exercise benefits.

The Health and Fitness Benefits of a Cycle or Spin class.

How many calories will I burn in a cycle/spin class? The number of calories you’ll burn depends on a number of factors, including your weight and the intensity at which you exercise. On average, participants burn about 400–600 calories in an average Spinning class. Someone today shared that they burned over 800 calories in my class.

Will taking a spin or cycle classes make my legs bulk up? The climbs, jumps, and runs that are incorporated into a Spinning class simulate the experience of riding up a hill. Climbing is an excellent way to build strength, which means you not only get shapelier legs but also stoke your metabolism since muscle needs more calories to sustain itself than fat does. However, most climbs only last a few minutes, which is not enough time to build big, bulky leg and butt muscles. If you’re ever in doubt, share your training goals with your instructor and ask them to help you create the ride that’s right for you.

Should I wear a heart rate monitor in a spin class? A few of my spinners where monitors to stay within their zones, which is important if you want to create a good workout and reap all the benefits of class. These Energy Zones vary in intensity and are based upon certain percentages of your maximum heart rate. By wearing a heart rate monitor, you can monitor the intensity of your ride and determine when to push harder, maintain your pace or reduce your effort. By taking the guesswork out of your workout, you maximize your efficiency while minimizing your odds of over-training, injury and burnout.

Either way you spin you are getting an amazing workout and can really learn to work with your heart rate, listening to your body and tapping into that endurance and endorphin rush..:)

Happy Spinning!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page